Extend vs GPT-5.5
A dedicated platform against a raw model, and they finish four points apart. Extend is better on scanned, photographed, and handwritten pages and on multi-page business documents. GPT-5.5 is level with it on clean short pages and ahead on Hebrew and Arabic. Both fall apart on long documents, GPT more completely. Extend brings a full product on a free tier. GPT brings an API and nothing else.
GPT here is a general model with a file and a list of fields. Extend is a document platform with Studio, workflows, and a five-API surface. They came fourth and fifth, and on the everyday short document you'd struggle to tell them apart.
Extend leads where a document product should: photographed receipts, handwritten forms, and rotated pages, where it was among the best in the field after DocuPipe and GPT was well below its own average, and on multi-page statements and filings. GPT leads on Hebrew and Arabic layouts, and edged Extend on single-page documents overall. On long catalogs and directories both were poor, but differently. Extend returned a fraction of the entries. GPT returned nothing at all on nine of them.
On resilience both have one mode and nothing to tune, and both fail silently on length. GPT's failure is the more complete, nine empties against Extend's fractions, and only a chunking pipeline fixes it. Extend also stumbled once on a plain export file.
On price GPT is cents per page on token billing, at the higher end of the raw models, with batch at half price. Extend is about six cents a page pay-as-you-go with 10,000 free credits and no minimum, five cents on its $500 Scale plan. Similar money. Only one includes a product.
Extend's product is the strongest developer experience among the specialized systems we looked at: Studio, an evaluation suite for regression-testing extraction, workflows, run and request logs, a review agent, webhooks with delivery logs, a test environment, and SDKs in Python, TypeScript, Java, and Go, all on the free tier. GPT has a strong general API with PDF and Office input, a Files API, batch, and structured outputs, and no dashboard, webhooks, document jobs, or retention controls. Extend's compliance gaps are a HIPAA BAA sold as an add-on and no SOC 2 stated. GPT's is that the platform's certifications cover the API and nothing you build.
So Extend for scanner-fed or multi-page business documents and for anyone who wants a product. GPT only if you're already standardized on it, every document is short and printed, and you have a pipeline to put it in.
Scanned, photographed, or handwritten pages, multi-page business documents, and teams that want a complete product with evaluation tooling on the free tier.
Teams already standardized on OpenAI with short, printed documents and their own pipeline.
How it scores, area by area
The accuracy score comes from the benchmark. Every other score is ours, with the reason written next to it. We use the same weights on every review and comparison.
| Area | Extend | GPT-5.5 |
|---|---|---|
| Accuracy35% of total | 8.0Ranked 4th of 8 systems on the benchmark. | 7.6Ranked 5th of 8 systems on the benchmark. |
| Resilience15% of total | 5.0One mode and no tuning, but a hard cliff on long documents and one odd miss on a plain export file, all silent. | 4.0Nine documents came back empty and there is no setting that fixes it; you have to build the chunking yourself. |
| Price15% of total | 7.0About $0.06 per page pay-as-you-go, $0.05 on the $500 Scale plan, no minimum, and a generous free tier. | 8.0$5 and $30 per million tokens, the priciest direct model, still only cents per page; batch at half price. |
| Getting started10% of total | 9.0Studio, evaluation suite, workflows and a test environment on a free tier of 10,000 credits with no card; schemas are authored by hand in Studio. | 3.0No document product. You build the tooling yourself. |
| API and integration10% of total | 9.0Webhooks with delivery logs, five APIs, four SDKs, request logs and a test environment, all on the free tier. | 5.0Strong general SDKs, PDF and Office input, a Files API, batch at half price and structured outputs; no document jobs or webhooks. |
| Data control7.5% of total | 7.0Zero and custom retention policies offered; custom agreements on Scale. | 5.0Platform policy only. Nothing document-specific. |
| Compliance7.5% of total | 5.0HIPAA BAA is a paid add-on; SOC 2 not stated on the pricing page. | 6.0Platform certifications apply to the API; your pipeline is your responsibility. |
| Overallweighted | 7.3weighted score out of 10 | 6.1weighted score out of 10 |
How each area is scored
- Accuracy (35%). The benchmark result, on a 0 to 10 scale.
- Resilience (15%). Does it just work? Fewer modes to choose, no tuning to reach the ranked result, no runs that fail outright, and no documents that come back quietly empty. Informed by the benchmark, judged by us.
- Price (15%). Published cost per page for parse plus extraction, cheapest scoring highest. Unpublished pricing is marked down.
- Getting started (10%). How far you get without a sales call: a dashboard, a free tier with no card, help authoring schemas, a test environment.
- API and integration (10%). Webhooks and which tier they are on, SDKs, no-code connectors, whether the API is built around document jobs at all.
- Data control (7.5%). Deletion controls, scheduled retention, zero-retention availability and on which tier, choice of region.
- Compliance (7.5%). Certifications stated on public pages: SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA with a BAA, GDPR, private deployment options.
By document type
Average accuracy on each group of benchmark documents, both systems on the same files. Every document and score is on the evidence page.
| Document type | Extend | GPT-5.5 |
|---|---|---|
| Short forms, invoices, receiptsone page · 30 documents | 88.8% Good | 88.7% Good |
| Scans and photosimages, not PDFs · 7 documents | 86.9% Good | 88.7% Good |
| Statements, filings, reports2 to 5 pages · 21 documents | 86.7% Good | 85.1% Good |
| Non-English documents12 languages · 25 documents | 69.3% Mixed | 69.4% Mixed |
| Long registers, catalogs, directories6 pages and up · 21 documents | 61.7% Mixed | 50.4% Weak |
| Extend | GPT-5.5 | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Credits. Extraction costs 3 credits per page plus 2 for the automatic parse, so 5 credits per page end to end. | Per token through the OpenAI API. No document-specific product or plan. |
| Entry price | Pay-as-you-go is free to start with 10,000 credits, then $0.0125 per credit. Scale is $500/month for 50,000 credits at $0.01 per additional credit. | $5 per million input tokens, $30 per million output tokens. |
| Cost per page | About $0.06 per page pay-as-you-go, $0.05 on Scale. | Depends on page size and output length; typically a cent to several cents per page, higher than the other two direct models. |
| Free tier | Yes. 10,000 credits, roughly 2,000 pages, on signup. | No ongoing free tier for API use. |
| Pay as you go | Yes. | Yes. Pure usage billing; batch processing at half price. |
| Dashboard | Yes. Studio to build and test processors, an Evaluation suite for regression testing, Workflows that chain classify, split and extract, run logs, a Review Agent and human review, and a built-in test environment. | No document product. A playground for prompts; upload, review and results tooling is yours to build. |
| Webhooks | Yes, with webhook endpoint and delivery logs in the dashboard. | None for document jobs. You run the pipeline. |
| API and SDKs | Python, TypeScript, Java, Go and REST on a date-versioned API. Parse, Extract, Classify, Split and Edit APIs; API request logs in the dashboard. | Official SDKs in Python, TypeScript and others. PDF, Office and spreadsheet input up to 50 MB per request, a Files API, a batch API at half price, structured outputs. |
| Data retention | Zero and custom data retention policies offered; custom retention agreements on Scale and up. | Governed by OpenAI's API data policies. Nothing document-specific. |
| Compliance | HIPAA BAA as a paid add-on on Scale. SOC 2 not stated on the pricing page. | OpenAI's platform certifications apply to the API; your pipeline around it is your responsibility. |
We checked these against the vendors' own pricing and documentation pages on 2026-09-11. Sources: Extend: www.extend.ai, docs.extend.ai; GPT-5.5: developers.openai.com. Prices change, so confirm before you budget.
Frequently asked
Is Extend more accurate than GPT-5.5?
Slightly, overall: 80.28% to 76.48% in our benchmark. Extend was ahead on scans, handwriting, and multi-page documents. GPT was ahead on Hebrew and Arabic layouts. Both were poor on long documents, GPT more so.
Why choose Extend over GPT if the scores are close?
Because Extend is a product: Studio, an evaluation suite, workflows, webhooks, and a test environment on a free tier. With GPT you build all of that yourself.
Scores are macro-average field accuracy from the DocuBench 0.2.0, 72-document run. Every document, answer key, and raw extraction is open in the explorer; the scoring rules are on the methodology page, and the replication kit re-runs the scorer. A document a system could not process scores zero rather than being dropped.