DocuPipe vs Extend
Two dedicated extraction platforms with real products around them, and the difference between them is document length. On single-page scans, photos, and handwriting Extend is close to DocuPipe and sometimes level. On anything of several pages DocuPipe holds and Extend drops off a cliff. Extend is cheaper per page and has the better free tier. DocuPipe has the more complete product and every certification a compliance team will ask for.
Both take a file and a schema and hand back structured data, both have a real dashboard rather than a bare API, and both can be adopted without a sales call. That makes this one of the fairer comparisons on the site, because the difference isn't category. It's depth.
On accuracy the two are close where Extend is strong. Single-page documents, photographed receipts, rotated pages, and handwritten forms are Extend's best material, and there it was within a few points of DocuPipe, which came first overall. The gap opens with page count. On statements and filings of a few pages DocuPipe stayed near the top while Extend drifted. On long catalogs and directories DocuPipe kept nearly all the entries while Extend returned a fraction, silently. Non-English documents were a second gap of about the same size.
That silence is the resilience story. Extend has one mode and nothing to tune, which we like, but its long-document cliff comes with no warning, and it stumbled once on a plain export file everything else read perfectly. DocuPipe had nothing come back empty, no document below two-thirds, and led at its default setting. If your corpus is unpredictable, that consistency is worth more than any single score.
On price Extend is the cheaper of the two and the simpler to understand: about six cents a page pay-as-you-go with 10,000 free credits and no minimum, five cents on its $500 Scale plan. DocuPipe's standard setting is about six cents on its Scale plan and the high setting about ten, with up to 20,000 free credits for a work email. Neither needs a conversation to start.
On product they're the two best in the field, with different emphases. Extend's free tier includes Studio, an evaluation suite for regression-testing extraction, workflows, a review agent, webhooks with delivery logs, request logs, and a test environment, with SDKs in four languages. DocuPipe includes Architect to build the workflow from your documents, Schema Studio to draft the schema by chat, an assistant to improve it from real results, review with source highlighting, webhooks, no-code connectors, and an MCP server. Extend makes you write the schema. DocuPipe drafts it for you. Extend gives you an evaluation suite. DocuPipe doesn't advertise one.
Compliance is where they clearly part. DocuPipe states SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA with a BAA, GDPR, regional storage, and an in-VPC option, none of it gated. Extend sells a HIPAA BAA as a paid add-on and doesn't state SOC 2 on its pricing page. So take Extend for short, scanned, English documents on a budget, with a team that will use the evaluation tooling. Take DocuPipe for anything long, non-English, regulated, or unpredictable.
Your documents run to several pages, arrive in languages other than English, or carry regulated data, or you want the schema drafted for you.
Your documents are mostly single pages, often scanned or handwritten, in English, and you want the lower price and the evaluation tooling on the free tier.
How it scores, area by area
The accuracy score comes from the benchmark. Every other score is ours, with the reason written next to it. We use the same weights on every review and comparison.
| Area | DocuPipe | Extend |
|---|---|---|
| Accuracy35% of total | 9.7Ranked 1st of 8 systems on the benchmark. | 8.0Ranked 4th of 8 systems on the benchmark. |
| Resilience15% of total | 10.0Nothing failed, nothing came back empty, no document below two-thirds, and the default setting already leads the field. There is nothing to tune. | 5.0One mode and no tuning, but a hard cliff on long documents and one odd miss on a plain export file, all silent. |
| Price15% of total | 6.0About $0.06 per page at the standard setting, which already outscores every competitor; $0.10 at the high setting. On par with Extend, above Reducto's published rate, with a free plan and no sales call. | 7.0About $0.06 per page pay-as-you-go, $0.05 on the $500 Scale plan, no minimum, and a generous free tier. |
| Getting started10% of total | 10.0The most help authoring the extraction itself on the board: Architect builds the workflow from your documents, Schema Studio drafts the schema by chat, and an improvement assistant fixes it from real results. Up to 20,000 free credits, no card. | 9.0Studio, evaluation suite, workflows and a test environment on a free tier of 10,000 credits with no card; schemas are authored by hand in Studio. |
| API and integration10% of total | 9.0Webhooks on every plan, REST API, Make, n8n and Workato connectors, MCP server. | 9.0Webhooks with delivery logs, five APIs, four SDKs, request logs and a test environment, all on the free tier. |
| Data control7.5% of total | 9.0Deletion endpoints on every plan, scheduled auto-deletion on paid plans, selectable storage region. | 7.0Zero and custom retention policies offered; custom agreements on Scale. |
| Compliance7.5% of total | 10.0The fullest set stated publicly on the board: SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA with BAA, GDPR, and an in-VPC deployment option. | 5.0HIPAA BAA is a paid add-on; SOC 2 not stated on the pricing page. |
| Overallweighted | 9.1weighted score out of 10 | 7.3weighted score out of 10 |
How each area is scored
- Accuracy (35%). The benchmark result, on a 0 to 10 scale.
- Resilience (15%). Does it just work? Fewer modes to choose, no tuning to reach the ranked result, no runs that fail outright, and no documents that come back quietly empty. Informed by the benchmark, judged by us.
- Price (15%). Published cost per page for parse plus extraction, cheapest scoring highest. Unpublished pricing is marked down.
- Getting started (10%). How far you get without a sales call: a dashboard, a free tier with no card, help authoring schemas, a test environment.
- API and integration (10%). Webhooks and which tier they are on, SDKs, no-code connectors, whether the API is built around document jobs at all.
- Data control (7.5%). Deletion controls, scheduled retention, zero-retention availability and on which tier, choice of region.
- Compliance (7.5%). Certifications stated on public pages: SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA with a BAA, GDPR, private deployment options.
By document type
Average accuracy on each group of benchmark documents, both systems on the same files. Every document and score is on the evidence page.
| Document type | DocuPipe | Extend |
|---|---|---|
| Short forms, invoices, receiptsone page · 30 documents | 97.7% Strong | 88.8% Good |
| Long registers, catalogs, directories6 pages and up · 21 documents | 97.6% Strong | 61.7% Mixed |
| Scans and photosimages, not PDFs · 7 documents | 97.6% Strong | 86.9% Good |
| Statements, filings, reports2 to 5 pages · 21 documents | 95.5% Strong | 86.7% Good |
| Non-English documents12 languages · 25 documents | 94.1% Good | 69.3% Mixed |
| DocuPipe | Extend | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Monthly plans with included credits, plus a top-off rate. Parse is 1 credit per page; extraction is 2 credits per page at the standard setting and 4 at the high setting. | Credits. Extraction costs 3 credits per page plus 2 for the automatic parse, so 5 credits per page end to end. |
| Entry price | Free plan to start, no card. Growth $90/month (3,000 credits), Scale $500/month (25,000 credits), top-offs $0.05 per credit. | Pay-as-you-go is free to start with 10,000 credits, then $0.0125 per credit. Scale is $500/month for 50,000 credits at $0.01 per additional credit. |
| Cost per page | About $0.06 per page at the standard setting or $0.10 at the high setting (the ranked config) on the Scale plan. More on the Growth plan and on top-offs. | About $0.06 per page pay-as-you-go, $0.05 on Scale. |
| Free tier | Yes. Up to 20,000 free credits on signup with a work email (several thousand pages), no credit card required. | Yes. 10,000 credits, roughly 2,000 pages, on signup. |
| Pay as you go | No pure pay-as-you-go plan; top-off credits can be bought on any plan. | Yes. |
| Dashboard | Yes. Architect, a chat assistant that assembles a workflow from your documents (split, classify, extract, redact, reason, output); Schema Studio for chat-driven schema creation with a live preview; AI-assisted schema improvement with a before/after diff; and a review view that highlights where each value came from. | Yes. Studio to build and test processors, an Evaluation suite for regression testing, Workflows that chain classify, split and extract, run logs, a Review Agent and human review, and a built-in test environment. |
| Webhooks | Yes, on every plan. | Yes, with webhook endpoint and delivery logs in the dashboard. |
| API and SDKs | REST API, plus no-code connectors for Make, n8n, and Workato. | Python, TypeScript, Java, Go and REST on a date-versioned API. Parse, Extract, Classify, Split and Edit APIs; API request logs in the dashboard. |
| Data retention | Deletion endpoints on every plan; scheduled auto-deletion policies (1 to 30 days) on paid plans. Data region selectable on paid plans (US, EU, Canada, Australia). | Zero and custom data retention policies offered; custom retention agreements on Scale and up. |
| Compliance | SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA (BAA available), GDPR. In-VPC deployment available. | HIPAA BAA as a paid add-on on Scale. SOC 2 not stated on the pricing page. |
We checked these against the vendors' own pricing and documentation pages on 2026-09-11. Sources: DocuPipe: www.docupipe.ai, docs.docupipe.ai; Extend: www.extend.ai, docs.extend.ai. Prices change, so confirm before you budget.
Frequently asked
Which is more accurate, DocuPipe or Extend?
DocuPipe, by about seventeen points overall (97.02% to 80.28%). On single-page scans and handwriting the two are close. The gap is almost entirely multi-page and non-English documents, where Extend returns a fraction of the content.
Which is cheaper, DocuPipe or Extend?
Extend, at about five to six cents a page against roughly six to ten for DocuPipe depending on setting. Both have free tiers with no card. Extend's is 10,000 credits, DocuPipe's up to 20,000 for a work email.
Scores are macro-average field accuracy from the DocuBench 0.2.0, 72-document run. Every document, answer key, and raw extraction is open in the explorer; the scoring rules are on the methodology page, and the replication kit re-runs the scorer. A document a system could not process scores zero rather than being dropped.